Merge Duplicate Guests

We built merging to allow admins to clean up their guest list count if their guests make multiple accounts or RSVP on multiple devices using different information. “Why does this happen?”, you ask. Good question. It has to do with the difference between an invitee and a user. Let’s talk about the difference, and why it’s important when it comes to merging or deleting guests.

What’s the difference between an invitee and a user?

An invitee is just that: someone you’ve invited to your wedding via your Guest List. A user is someone who has been invited to your wedding and has responded to your RSVP questions and created an account. (Did you catch all those ands?) We indicate a user with an icon that corresponds to their sign up method: Facebook, Google, or Email. You might wonder why the invitee and the user don’t automatically merge. It’s because the information you input and the information your guest provides doesn’t always match up. Let’s say I send an invite to Chris1234@email.com. Chris opens his invite email, but rather than RSVPing with Chris1234@email.com, he uses his Facebook account he created with Chris1234@email.com. You’ll now see two of Chris (duplicates) in your Guest List: one as an invitee with no icon, and one as a user with a Facebook icon. When this happens, you want to merge the two rows.

We’re going to discuss merging, but before we go there we should quickly discuss what happens when you delete a user vs. when you delete the invitee. If you delete a user, you remove them (and their responses) from your wedding entirely.  Deleting the invitee simply removes the “line item” of who you invited. In other words, if you are going to delete rather than merge, please be sure to delete the invitee—not the user. Cool? Cool. Moving on.

Why do I need to merge guests?

If you have a guest who signed up multiple times, whether it was with different email addresses or their Facebook, you can simplify your guest list by merging the two. Your guest will still be able to log in using any of the accounts they had signed up with, and we will merge their RSVP information, displaying the most up-to-date information. Let’s say on December 1, I RSVP using cali@withjoy.com saying I won’t attend, but then a few days later I RSVP again using cali@email.com saying I will attend—and then you want to merge those two accounts. The RSVP field will reflect the latest response and say that I am attending.

What happens now that guests don’t have to log in?

Another good question. We are doing some behind-the-scenes magic to try to connect guests with the same email addresses, but you may still see some duplicates. If your guests RSVP using the same information you inputted to your guest list (this means there’s an exact match in first name, last name, and email), their answers when they RSVP will appear for the corresponding invitee in your guest list. In other words, the user and the invitee will merge automatically.

What if I have two of the same name with different email addresses?

If you added “Allison Smith, allison1234@email.com” to your guest list, and Allison Smith RSVPs using a different email, like allisonsmith@email.com, we don’t currently have a way to match them automatically. That means you will likely see two entries on your guest list with different emails. In this case, you can merge the two entries in the Guest List to clean up your list. Allison Smith will be able to log in just the same, and the newly merged guest reflects whatever information was last updated.

What if two users have the same email?

This happens every so often. Let’s say you invite Aunt Edna and Uncle Al, and for some reason they both decide to use EdnaAl@email.com to RSVP. Our system will automatically merge the two because they share an email address. Admittedly, this is a gap in our guest management system. We plan to address this fully in the new year, but in the meantime we assumed that more people would use different emails or login authentications than people would use the same email address for two different people. This is based on the way most of our couples and their guests use Joy, but we’re always looking for feedback on how to tweak these processes. If you have a suggestion, please email us at hello@withjoy.com.

When should I delete guests?

Don’t—if you can help it. When in doubt, merge. As mentioned above in our discussion of the difference between users and invitees, deleting users is super sensitive. Do take the time to note which you’re deleting, as deleting an actual user (indicated by the icon) removes them from your wedding completely. In the case that you do accidentally delete a user, never fear! Our super-talented engineers are available to make things right.

Leave A Comment?